Book Review | I'll Give You The Sun

written by Saturday bookseller, Ellie

I'll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson
Publisher: Walker Books
Genre: Young Adult
Pages: 432
Format: Paperback
Price: £7.99

Jude and her twin Noah were incredibly close - until a tragedy drove them apart, and now they are barely speaking. Then Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy as well as a captivating new mentor, both of whom may just need her as much as she needs them. What the twins don't realize is that each of them has only half the story and if they can just find their way back to one another, they have a chance to remake their world.

'I'll Give You the Sun' is a radiant novel that will leave you laughing and crying - all at once. For fans of John Green, Gayle Forman and Lauren Oliver, Jandy Nelson will completely satisfy any Young Adult enthusiasts and also anyone drawn to beautiful descriptive writing. Never have I read a book so fast and thought so much about it afterwards, there's just so many aspects to consider, some incredibly sensitive; from a struggle with coming out at a young age to over-coming failure whilst also conquering some really topical and relatable demons.

The characters within the story are brilliantly bohemian, and it is nothing short of an adventure, following Jude & Noah's struggle with growing up and losing loved ones. Not only is there romance, that is on one hand pretty typical of YA whilst at the same time being really exciting, sensual and different in the fact that one of the relationships formed is homosexual, but also a delve into the minds of the aspiring and prodigious artists of both Jude & Noah. Not only this but as the story progresses there are countless moments of realization as the brilliant twists and turns and loopholes take form. The last chapter or so will completely take you by storm.

In my opinion Jandy Nelson has yet to write a book that is not an important read for young adults, breaching topics that could otherwise be hard to discuss. For anyone struggling with anxiety, a lack of self-confidence, relationships or trouble with their identity this is the perfect book for you. It is incredibly uplifting. If Jude & Noah can make it through their story so can we!

Or maybe a person is just made up of a lot of people,” I say. “Maybe we’re accumulating these new selves all the time.” Hauling them in as we make choices, good and bad, as we screw up, step up, lose our minds, find our minds, fall apart, fall in love, as we grieve, grow, retreat from the world, dive into the world, as we make things, as we break things. He grins. “Each new self standing on the last one’s shoulders until we’re these wobbly people poles?” I die of delight. “Yes, exactly! We’re all just wobbly people poles!
— Jandy Nelson, I'll Give You the Sun